WDIY http://wdiyfm.org en Call for Master Watershed Steward Volunteers http://wdiyfm.org/post/call-master-watershed-steward-volunteers <p></p><p></p><p>Jim Wilson, Watershed Specialist at the Northampton County Conservation District is with us today to discuss Penn State Extension’s Master Watershed Steward Program.&nbsp; Jim is a major project partner and closely involved in this new volunteer program.&nbsp; They are currently looking for volunteers for their 2014 training class.</p><p></p><p>Jim, I understand this is a relatively new program offered by Extension.&nbsp; Could you tell us a bit about it?</p> Wed, 31 Dec 2014 23:31:56 +0000 Neil Hever 33694 at http://wdiyfm.org Call for Master Watershed Steward Volunteers Top Teams Sitting Out Of NBA Playoffs http://wdiyfm.org/post/top-teams-sitting-out-nba-playoffs Some of the NBA's hottest teams missed the cut for this year's playoffs. And to what lengths will Cuban athletes go for a chance to play in the MLB? ESPN.com's Howard Bryant tells NPR's Wade Goodwyn. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 14:09:00 +0000 editor 38684 at http://wdiyfm.org Ukraine Calls An Easter Truce In Clash With Militants http://wdiyfm.org/post/ukraine-calls-easter-truce-clash-militants Citing progress in diplomacy and this weekend's Easter holiday, Ukrainian officials say they've suspended an "anti-terrorist operation" that is aimed at pro-Russian forces who have occupied government buildings in eastern Ukraine.<p>The move comes after an international group including Ukrainian officials, Secretary of State John Kerry and Russia's top diplomat Sergei Lavrov reached an agreement late this week in Geneva that would compel the separatists to disarm and abandon the buildings they've taken in parts Donetsk and other cities with large Russian-speaking populations in eastern Ukraine Sat, 19 Apr 2014 13:41:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 38683 at http://wdiyfm.org Ukraine Calls An Easter Truce In Clash With Militants Usman Riaz: Tiny Desk Concert http://wdiyfm.org/post/usman-riaz-tiny-desk-concert This is simply astonishing. Watch twenty seconds and you'll be sucked into the world of Usman Riaz, an immensely talented 23-year-old Pakistani musician who will change your perception of how a guitar can sound and be played. What's more remarkable is that this Berklee College of Music whiz kid learned much of his dazzling guitar technique by watching YouTube videos at 16. He also learned what he calls "parlor tricks," like body percussion and harmonica. But the classically trained pianist also used the Internet to learn how to write and conduct orchestra pieces and make films. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 13:22:00 +0000 Bob Boilen 38682 at http://wdiyfm.org Usman Riaz: Tiny Desk Concert Captain Apologizes As Death Toll Rises In S. Korea Ferry Accident http://wdiyfm.org/post/captain-apologizes-death-toll-rises-s-korea-ferry-accident Divers searching a sunken South Korean ferry have found three more bodies, bringing the number of victims to 32. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 12:57:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 38670 at http://wdiyfm.org Captain Apologizes As Death Toll Rises In S. Korea Ferry Accident NCAA Beats 'Strategic Retreat' On Food Rules For Student-Athletes http://wdiyfm.org/post/ncaa-beats-strategic-retreat-food-rules-student-athletes The NCAA is facing scrutiny for how it treats student-athletes. NPR's Wade Goodwyn talks to columnist New York Times Joe Nocera about changes the organization made this week. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 12:12:00 +0000 editor 38681 at http://wdiyfm.org Bringing Poetry And High Culture To Sao Paulo's Periphery http://wdiyfm.org/post/bringing-poetry-and-high-culture-sao-paulos-periphery Poetry in an unlikely place: In a grim urban shanty town in the middle of Sao Paulo, budding poets from the poorest sections of Brazilian society get together weekly to compose and recite poetry. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 12:12:00 +0000 editor 38680 at http://wdiyfm.org In Silicon Valley, Immigrants Toast Their Way To The Top http://wdiyfm.org/post/silicon-valley-immigrants-toast-their-way-top Immigrant workers in the Silicon Valley attend Toastmasters meetings to improve their public speaking. Organizers say those skills often lead to increased confidence at work and even job promotions. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 12:12:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 38679 at http://wdiyfm.org Captain, 2 Crew Members Arrested In S. Korea Ferry Sinking http://wdiyfm.org/post/captain-2-crew-members-arrested-s-korea-ferry-sinking The search continues for hundreds of people, mostly students, who were on board a South Korean ferry when it sank this week. Correspondent Anthony Kuhn shares the latest with NPR's Wade Goodwyn. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 12:12:00 +0000 editor 38678 at http://wdiyfm.org Obama Adds Malaysia To His Asia Itinerary http://wdiyfm.org/post/obama-adds-malaysia-his-asia-itinerary Obama travels to Malaysia next week, where the government is under fire for the handling of a missing airliner. NPR's Wade Goodwyn talks to Josh Kurlantzick of the Council on Foreign Relations. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 12:12:00 +0000 editor 38677 at http://wdiyfm.org