WDIY http://wdiyfm.org en Call for Master Watershed Steward Volunteers http://wdiyfm.org/post/call-master-watershed-steward-volunteers <p></p><p></p><p>Jim Wilson, Watershed Specialist at the Northampton County Conservation District is with us today to discuss Penn State Extension’s Master Watershed Steward Program.&nbsp; Jim is a major project partner and closely involved in this new volunteer program.&nbsp; They are currently looking for volunteers for their 2014 training class.</p><p></p><p>Jim, I understand this is a relatively new program offered by Extension.&nbsp; Could you tell us a bit about it?</p> Wed, 31 Dec 2014 23:31:56 +0000 Neil Hever 33694 at http://wdiyfm.org Call for Master Watershed Steward Volunteers Florida School Offered Kids Caffeine On Test Day http://wdiyfm.org/post/florida-school-offered-kids-caffeine-test-day Students at a Melbourne, Fla., elementary school were offered trail mix and Mountain Dew on the morning of standardized tests. A grandmother got the school to stop. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 11:10:00 +0000 editor 38880 at http://wdiyfm.org Canadian Police Extricate Bear From Jar http://wdiyfm.org/post/canadian-police-extricate-bear-jar Residents in Ontario called police when they spotted a bear bumbling down the street. It was unable to see where it was going because of a large birdseed jar stuck on its head. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 11:05:00 +0000 editor 38881 at http://wdiyfm.org Cloud Boat, 'Carmine' http://wdiyfm.org/post/cloud-boat-carmine <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4IUHKBuFndk</p> Wed, 23 Apr 2014 11:03:00 +0000 Robin Hilton 38878 at http://wdiyfm.org Cloud Boat, 'Carmine' Better (?) Living Through Chemistry In 'Afterparty' http://wdiyfm.org/post/better-living-through-chemistry-afterparty The question you have to ask yourself is, how juicy do you like your science fiction?<p>And I mean that in terms of a spectrum. To me, classic space operas are saltines — dusty and dry and fit only as a calmative after a long binge of weirder, more foreign flavors. William Gibson? He's ... moist. Rudy Rucker is a juicy peach. Paul Di Filippo is that same peach, a week gone and with a tooth stuck in it.<p>So ask yourself: How sticky do I want my chin and fingers when I'm done? Wed, 23 Apr 2014 11:03:00 +0000 editor 38877 at http://wdiyfm.org Better (?) Living Through Chemistry In 'Afterparty' 'Object Of Interest' Found In Search For Malaysian Jet http://wdiyfm.org/post/object-interest-found-search-malaysian-jet After 6 1/2 weeks of false leads and conflicting information about what may have happened to the jet and the 239 people on board, Wednesday's headlines about the <a href="http://www.npr.org/tags/291409377/malaysia-airlines-jet-crash" target="_blank">search for Malaysia Airlines Flight 370</a> need to be viewed with considerable caution:<p>-- " 'Object of interest' found on Western Australian coast." (<a href="http://www.cnn.com/2014/04/23/world/asia/malaysia-airlines-plane/index.html?hpt=hp_t1" target="_blank">CNN.com</a>)<p>-- "MH370 search: Debris washed up on WA coast to be investigated." ( Wed, 23 Apr 2014 10:57:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 38879 at http://wdiyfm.org 'Object Of Interest' Found In Search For Malaysian Jet Security Situation In Eastern Ukraine Is Unpredictable http://wdiyfm.org/post/security-situation-eastern-ukraine-worsens In some of the towns where pro-Moscow militants have occupied government buildings, it is clear that someone is giving orders. In other places, a state of near chaos reigns. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 09:23:00 +0000 editor 38876 at http://wdiyfm.org Supreme Court Upholds Michigan's Affirmative Action Ban http://wdiyfm.org/post/legal-battle-over-affirmative-action-continues Steve Inskeep talks to Lee Bollinger, a former president at the University of Michigan, about Tuesday's ruling. Bollinger was president during two earlier landmark affirmative action cases. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 09:23:00 +0000 editor 38875 at http://wdiyfm.org How Hospitals Can Reduce Disabilities For Stroke Patients http://wdiyfm.org/post/how-hospitals-can-reduce-disabilities-stroke-patients Research finds when hospitals initiate rapid response programs to treat stroke victims, response time is cut and fewer patients die. The stroke patients also have fewer significant disabilities. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 09:23:00 +0000 editor 38874 at http://wdiyfm.org Urban Libraries Become De Facto Homeless Shelters http://wdiyfm.org/post/san-francisco-library-hires-social-worker-help-homeless-patrons San Francisco's library system has hired a full-time social worker to help find housing and other services for the homeless men and women who've set up camp among the stacks. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 09:23:00 +0000 Scott Shafer 38873 at http://wdiyfm.org